Alberta Barley

menu button



Sep 26

Get involved: Alberta Barley elections include 16 available positions

Posted on Sep 26 By: Alberta Barley

Sept. 26, 2017 (Calgary, AB) Nominations are now being accepted for Alberta Barley’s 2017 director and delegate elections.

There are 16 positions available, including two directors (regions one and two) and one director-at-large (regions one, three, four or six). Thirteen spots are available for delegates with at least one opening in each of the Alberta Barley electoral regions.

“Alberta Barley does great work advocating on behalf of producers, and these elections are an opportunity to be involved in that work,” said Jason Lenz, Alberta Barley chair. The Bentley-area farmer began representing Alberta Barley as a delegate in 2009, has served as region three director since 2013 and was elected chair in 2016. “Volunteering your time as a delegate or director is an effective way to make a difference in the industry.”

Any farmers seeking a director or director-at-large position must submit paperwork via fax to Alberta Barley at 1-403-291-0190 or by email to on or before Oct. 20, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. Votes for any  director-at-large will be cast at all six regional meetings, tabulated and then announced at the Alberta Barley AGM, Dec. 6 in Banff, AB.

Delegates are nominated and elected from the floor at each regional meeting.

All farmers running for a delegate or a director position must have produced barley in the region they are running for election in and paid a service charge on barley either in the current or previous two crop years, according to Section 17 of the Alberta Barley Plan Regulation. A director-at-large position allows a farmer to be eligible by having grown barley in any area of Alberta.

The following delegates are up for re-election. Delegates serve two-year terms with Alberta Barley.

Region 1 – Brian Witdouck, Brad Berger

Region 2 – Wade Christie, Shawn Gorr

Region 3 – Brad Wiese, Kevin Bender, Harold Haugen, Wade McAllister, Dick Wymenga, Trevor Petersen

Region 4 – Clint Jacula

Region 5 – Peter Smerychynski

Region 6 – Brent Konstapel

There are two directors and one director-at-large up for re-election. Directors and directors-at-large serve three-year terms with Alberta Barley.

Region 1, 3, 4 or 6 – Terry James (director-at-large)

Region 1 – Dave Bishop (director) 

Region 2 – Jeff Nielsen (director)

Click here for the director nomination form.

Click here for the director-at-large nomination form.

For media inquiries, please contact:

Ellen Cottee
Communications Coordinator

4 Responses

  1. Lynne says:

    Hi. How r the regions defined. We farm east of Strathmore. What region r we in?

    • Ellen Cottee says:

      Hi Lynne,

      Please see the region map here:

      I am thinking you would be in Region 2!

      Thank you,

      • Lynne says:

        Hi Ellen. That’s a great map. If maybe a few main land marks or towns/cities where on the map that would help for references. Thx.

        • Ellen Cottee says:

          Hi Lynne,

          We’re working on a re-do of the map, which will include some more markers. For the time being, hovering over the regions (on desktop) or clicking them (mobile) will provide a list of counties and districts included in the region. I hope that helps!


Leave a Reply