Alberta Barley

menu button



Dec 13

Alberta Barley announces new board leadership, new director-at-large and several new delegates

Posted on Dec 13 By: Victoria Decker

Following yesterday’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Prairie Cereals Summit in Banff, Alberta Barley is pleased to announce new leadership on its board of directors. Dave Bishop was elected as Chair and Bryan Sewell was elected as Vice-Chair. Alberta Barley also welcomes Wade McAllister as director-at-large, filling the final opening on the board of directors.

Bishop, who farms near Barons and has served as a director since 2015, takes over the chair role from Jason Lenz. Lenz served as a director since 2014 with the most recent two years as Chair. Lenz made the decision to step down from the chair role and will serve the final year of his commitment to Alberta Barley as a director. Sewell has served as a director since 2016 and farms near High River and McAllister farms near Innisfail and joins the board after serving as a delegate since 2016.

“As a farmer I see the direct farm-gate value and results that Alberta Barley delivers,” said Bishop. There is so much opportunity brewing in the barley sector and as a board we’re leveraging that to ensure barley remains a top choice for farmers and end-users alike. I’m honoured to take over this position from Jason Lenz and continue building on the vision he’s been leading to see these opportunities through for farmers.”

“In passing the torch to Dave Bishop, I’m confident he’ll bring the leadership needed to ensure Alberta Barley continues to add value to your farm,” said Lenz. “Our board knows the importance of board succession planning and we felt it was necessary to give a new Chairman the opportunity to serve for at least two years. It’s been an honour to serve barley farmer as Chair and I look forward to carrying out my final year as a director.”

Following its regional meetings that took place across the province throughout November, Alberta Barley welcomes several new delegates who join a number of delegates who were re-elected:

  • Region 1: Sean Stanford (new delegate: must be appointed by the board), Greg Stamp (re-elected)
  • Region 2: Kenton Ziegler, Doug McBain, Doug Miller, Doug Robertson, John McBain, Jamie Christie (John McBain is a new delegate, all others are re-elected)
  • Region 4: John Wozniak, Gordon Tuck, Bernie Klammer, Scott Keller (Scott Keller is a new delegate, all others are re-elected)
  • Region 5: Dean Wiegand (new delegate: must be appointed by board)
  • Region 6: Aaron Young (new delegate) Gerald Finster (re-elected)

Farmers who may be interested in joining Alberta Barley as a director or delegate in future years should contact the leadership in their regions which can be found on

Media Contact:
Victoria Decker
Communications Manager
Alberta Wheat and Barley Commissions 

Leave a Reply