Alberta Barley

menu button



Dec 13

Alberta Barley announces chair and vice-chair roles following AGM during Prairie Cereals Summit

Posted on Dec 13 By: Victoria Decker

Following Alberta Barley’s Annual General Meeting (AGM), which took place this week in conjunction with the Prairie Cereals Summit, Alberta Barley is pleased to announce the executive of its board of directors. Dave Bishop will continue in his role as Chair and Wade McAllister will serve as Vice-Chair.
Bishop, who farms in the Barons area, is stepping into his final year on Alberta Barley’s board of directors and his second year as Chair. McAllister, who farms near Innisfail, joined the board a year ago after serving as a long-time Alberta Barley delegate.
“I’m extremely grateful for the board’s vote of confidence as I enter my second year as Chair,” says Bishop. “I look forward to serving my final year in this capacity as we continue our mandate to strengthen the barley industry for farmers.”

“Taking on a leadership role in the barley industry is the natural next step in my farming career,” says McAllister. “Our board takes an active role in leading this industry forward and I’m proud to be part of it.” 
The AGM also marked the end of former chair Jason Lenz’s final term with Alberta Barley. Lenz has been instrumental in shaping Alberta Barley’s strategic direction serving on the board for six years as well as a number of external committees including Canada Grains Council, Western Standards Committee, and the Canadian Roundtable for Sustainable Crops. Lenz has also completed countless media interviews ensuring the farmer voice is out in the public domain.
“As a farmer, I see tremendous value in this organization’s mandate and have always been extremely grateful for the opportunity to do my part. I want to thank my fellow board members for all of their support over the years. I know that I’ve left this board in great hands and I look forward to seeing even more results coming from Alberta Barley.”  
The AGM also marked the start of Tara Sawyer’s first term as a director-at-large, replacing Brian Sewell, who did not seek re-election, and Dick Wymenga’s first term as region 3 director, replacing Jason Lenz.
Click here for more information about Alberta Barley’s directors and delegates.
Media Contact:
Victoria Decker
Communications Manager
Alberta Wheat and Barley Commissions

Leave a Reply