Alberta Barley

menu button

Policy Committee

Alberta Barley’s policy committee is chaired by Jason Lenz, board Chair and Region Three Director. Directors-at-Large Brian Sewell and Terry James also sit on the committee, along with Commission Delegates Doug Robertson, Kenton Ziegler, Bernie Klammer, John Wozniak Jr. and Ron Heck. Manager of Market Development and Policy Shannon Sereda also sits on the committee.

The committee works closely with provincial and federal governments on agricultural policy, trade and access issues—including low-level presence (LLP) and trade barriers. LLP is the unintended presence, in small amounts, of genetically modified plant material in exports that has been approved in at least one country, but not in the country that is importing it. This sometimes leads to serious trade disruptions that can compromise free trade and strain trade relationships that are beneficial to farmers.

Members of the committee also represent the Commission through their involvement in other organizations, like the Canadian Agri-Food Trade Alliance (CAFTA), the Barley Council of Canada (BCC), the Canada Grains Council (CGC) and the Grain Growers of Canada (GGC). As well, Lenz serves on the BCC’s Board of Directors.

For more information, please contact:

Shannon Sereda
Manager of Market Development and Policy
Alberta Barley
Tel: (403) 291-9111